Sign In

About the QFES

This page provides information about our organisation and its structure, governance arrangements, our executive leadership, our staff, volunteers and partners and departmental contacts.


Organisational chart


The Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) was established as a department on 1 November 2013 under the Public Service Act 2008.  It sits within the public safety portfolio, under the Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services and Minister for Corrective Services.  The portfolio also contains the Office of the Inspector-General Emergency Management (IGEM); the Public Safety Business Agency (PSBA); and the Queensland Police Service (QPS). The portfolio structure is designed to support an integrated and collaborative approach to service delivery.
QFES – General summary

Key People

Commissioner Carroll

Katarina Carroll


Commissioner Carroll Bio



D Smith

Doug Smith

Deputy Commissioner and Chief Strategy Officer

Capability and Corporate Services Division

DC Smith Bio

M Wassing 

Mike Wassing

Deputy Commissioner

Emergency Management, Volunteerism and Community Resilience Division

DC Wassing Bio

M Roche 

Mark Roche

Deputy Commissioner

Readiness and Response Services Division

DC Roche Bio

Legislation and regulations

Our History

Our corporate publications

Contact and address details


*This publication was produced prior to the current government.