Sign In

Area 4 - Goondiwindi


Goondiwindi Command encompasses the towns of Goondiwindi, Bollon, Dirranbandi, Millmerran, St George, Texas and Yelarbon, which are contained within the Goondiwindi Regional Council, Balonne Shire Council and Toowoomba Regional Council. The area has a population base of 13 566 and contains the second highest road traffic density in the South Western region. It covers around 50 000 square kilometres.

The seven auxiliary stations within the Goondiwindi Command have a staffing establishment of 75 firefighters. Along with the traditional role of firefighting, QFRS staff also has the capabilities to combat hazardous incidents as well as provide accident rescue services. Not only do the crews support their local communities but also their surrounding districts. QFRS staff participates in, and supports, their local shows and annual carnivals and festivals.

The Command Office is based in Goondiwindi and provides operational, administrative and leadership support to all auxiliary stations. Goondiwindi is situated at the junction of five major highways, overlooking the banks of the Macintyre River which forms the border with New South Wales. Like most other areas in the region, rural production is the primary source of employment and wealth.